Hasaacas Ladies Win Big at Sports Writers Association of Ghana Awards

Hasaacas Ladies, Coach Yussif Basigi and Janet Egyir picked top awards at the Sports Writers Association of Ghana Awards Night held on Friday at the Accra Conference Center.

The award’s night which awarded distinguished performers for the year saw Hasaacas Ladies adjudged Team of the Year becoming the first Women’s Team to do so in the history of the Awards.

The team made it to six grande finales in the last six months and won five including; Women’s Premier League, Women’s FA Cup, Women’s Super Cup, First Lady’s Cup and the WAFU Zone B Women’s Champions League Qualifiers.

20211108 191558

The team also finished as Runners Up in the maiden edition of the CAF Women’s Champions League.

The Yussif Basigi led team brushed aside competition from the Ghana Olympics Relay Team and Hearts of Oak.

Yussif Basigi again secured the Coach of the Year Award; his second after winning same in 2015 after another splendid Year with the Black Queens to win Gold at the 2015 All African Games.

He’s made a remarkable impact since joining Hasaacas Ladies in 2003; ensuring the team picked all four domestic titles and the maiden WAFU Zone B Cup.

Coach Yussif Basigi Receiving Medal at the First Lady's Cup

Coach Yussif Basigi Receiving Medal at the First Lady’s Cup

Skipper Janet Egyir who has outstandingly lifted five trophies in the Year 2021 secured the Female Footballer of the Year Award.

Janet Egyir has historically played 39 matches for Hasaacas Ladies and Black Queens in the Year 2021 – the most by a Ghanaian female player in a calendar year.

Janet Egy

Janet Egyir Adjudged Player of the Match at the Semifinals of the CAF Women’s Champions League

Club President, Nana Bayin Eyison was also honored as one of the five winners of the Meritorious Awardees.

He’s been part of the Sekondi Hasaacas Football Club brand since 1985. He currently serves on the Board of Directors and doubles as the President of Hasaacas Ladies Football Club.

All of us at Sekondi Hasaacas FC say Congratulations!